Let’s Talk West Virginia

More specifically, the hill towns of West Virginia, like Quinwood

https://america-from-the-sky.myshopify.com/products/aerial-photo-of-quinwood-west-virginia

My first encounter with the hills of West Virginia was when I skipped out on the crappy WV turnpike and headed up the hills. To learn about the horrible turnpike, read here:

It was not long until I was at the entrance to the backcountry. Real small towns up there! Probably due to coal mining and lumber that there are any towns up there. Some places looked closed down as if the town’s main employer had closed.

In one of the town streets the truck in front of me pulled over to let me pass. There was a small shoulder, so he could. The truck, however, did not stop. I looked over, wondering why he did not slow down enough to stop. I noticed the shoulder about to come to an end and that turned into a ditch near someone’s driveway, so I hit the gas. The truck jerked the truck back onto the road sharply, just missing the ditch and coming about a foot from my rear bumper. If I did not notice the situation and responded at the time I did, it would have ended differently.

--

--

J & J (Jessica & Joshua J. Lyon, QMHP, ACNP)

She's an Accountant & he is an MA in Counseling student at Liberty U, has a BS in Criminal Psychology, is a Mental Health Worker, Combat Veteran, & Writer